Plan my Trip | India Coach Tours | India Interliners | Contact us | About us | Enquiry Form 
uk        +44-2080999171
usa      +1-347-4688595
 Toll free India - 1800-11-5757,   SMS 'flexi' to 54242
Tours to India, India Tours, India Tour
India Distance | Indian Railways | Airlines Timetable | Currency Converter | Weather India 
Train Tours
Budget Hotels India
India Cities
Central India Tourism
North India Tourism
South India Tourism
West India Tourism
East India Tourism
India Tour Packages
India Tour Packages
Home » Train Tours » Nilgiri Mountain Railway

Nilgiri Mountain Railway (Tour Itinerary)

The Nilgiri Mountain Railway is an excellent way to explore the hill stations in south India. The nice little train starts from Mettupalayam, which covers 46kms to Udhagamandalam thus needs four and a half hours at a maximum speed of 33 km per hour. The journey with Nilgiri Mountain Railway is heart throbbing and extremely delighting. It passes 16 tunnels, several tall grinder bridges and numerous tea plantations.

Mettupalayam- Udhagamandalam – Mettupalayam
Station covered : Mettupalayam, Hillgrove, coonoor, Wellington, Aravankadu, Ketti, Lovedale and Udhagamandalam.

Hour 1 : Mettupalayam is the starting point of your journey where you get Mettupalayam Udhagamandalam passenger train at 7: 10 in the morning.

Hour 2 : Your next departure will be at station Hillgrove at 8:46 am. This portion offers a lot of sightseeing for you. The next station is a bit far; the Coonoor stoppage needs at least two hours to approach.

Hour 3 : You will be reached at the coonoor station at 10:30 in the morning. After ten minutes you will reach Coonoor station the little train will arrive towards Wellington. Your toy train will leave you from Wellington at 10:48am.

Hour 4 : Then your next departure will be from Aravankadu at 11 O’clock. Then the next exit is from Ketti at 11:21 of the morning.

Hour 5 : The minimum time needs to reach the next station Lovedale is about twenty minutes. After exiting from Lovedale at 11:45 your final station is too close to come. Within 12:00 you will arrive at your decisive place Udhagamandalam

- Palace on wheels - The Royal Orient - Rajdhani Express
- Fairy Queen - Shatabdi Express - Shivalik Deluxe Toy Train
- Heritage on Wheels - Deccan Odyssey India - Golden Chariot India
Train Compartments at a Glance


North India Tours South India Tours Rajasthan Tours North Adventure Tours Train Tours Car Rentals General Information